Sunday, January 29, 2017

Boston Northeast Youth Board AGM

Boston Northeast Youth Board AGM

The Boston Northeast Youth Board AGM took place Sunday, January 29 at the Irish Cultural Center in Canton.  It was very encouraging to see all the positions on the board easily filled.  There was a lot of enthusiasm and plenty of discussion about how to move forward with competitions and transition to adult level for kids who are in the U16-U18 window, amongst other things.

Two positions even went to a vote – an unprecedented and encouraging development in the young life of the Youth Board.  Laura Corbin (ISYL) and Seamus Tobin (St. Brendan’s) each accepted the nomination for Chairperson, and Laura came out on top in the voting.  Martin Kerr (ISYL) and Peadar Nugent (St. Brendan’s) were on the ballot for Youth Officer, and Martin was voted in for the job.  Best of luck to the new board and on to a successful 2017.

The board for 2017 is:

Chairperson – Laura Corbin (ISYL)

Vice Chairperson – Mick Sammon (Trinity Milton)

Secretary – Tara Walsh (Trinity Milton)

Asst. Secretary – Liz Hunt (Trinity Milton)

Treasurer – Darren McGurran (St. Brendan’s)

Asst. Treasurer – Grainne Griffin (ISYL)

Registrar – Brendan McGrath (Trinity Milton)

PRO – Rory O’Donnell (Trinity Milton)

Youth Officer – Martin Kerr (ISYL)

Delegates:  Kevin Doherty (St. Brendan’s), Seamus Tobin (St. Brendan’s), Ellen Joyce (ISYL), Kevin Faherty (Trinity Milton).

by Rory O’Donnell