Sunday, March 7, 2021

Northeast AGM 2021 - A Return to Action

 2021 Northeast AGM

The election of officers was probably the quickest in living memory at the Boston Northeast GAA AGM that was held at the Irish Cultural Center in Canton, Mass. on Saturday afternoon.

All of the 2020 officers accepted their nominations unopposed in a quick fire election presided over by USGAA Chairman, Bernie Connaughton.  Longtime servant of the GAA at local and national level, John McDevitt was also in attendance and was elected the Honorary President for 2021.   

Following an unprecedented year in which the pandemic and the restrictions imposed as a result meant a lost year of games at adult level in the region, there was an eagerness in the room and amongst the remote attendees to get teams back on to the fields and playing  games this year.   There was representation from all of the clubs, with 44 in attendance whether in person or remotely, representing 22 clubs, with an additional football club, and a new camogie club in the works.  The bulk of the discussion centered on how the 2021 season would look. 

Almost all of the clubs indicated a desire to use the season to refocus on home based players, recruitment of Home Grown players, and to structure championship levels and formats according to the circumstances.  Clubs and the board will be having meetings in the coming weeks to focus on each championship and a format agreeable to clubs involved, with a goal for games to start in late May/early June.   This will, of course, depend on local regulations which present a moving target and take certainty out of the planning process.   For now, we will assume the best and plan for a return to action in 2021.  Best of luck to the board and to the clubs for the coming season!      

2021 Northeast Board  

Honorary President:  John McDevitt

Chairperson:  Peter Murray

Vice Chair:  Greg Lundy

Secretary:  David Joyce

Asst Secretary:  Evan McDonagh

Treasurer:  Olivia Rabbitte

Asst Treasurer:  Mark McKee

Registrar:  Shane McKenna

PRO:  Rory O’Donnell

Youth Officer:  Martin Kerr

Trustees:  Eileen Kerin, Paul Martin McDaid, Dave Fly Power

By Rory O'Donnell PRO