Saturday, May 18, 2019

May 18 2019 - Pat O'Brien Cup Final: Aidan McAnespies v Wolfe Tones

Pat O’Brien Cup Final

Aidan McAnespies made it three Pat O’Brien Cups on the trot with an impressive victory against the Wolfe Tones at the Irish Cultural Center in Canton, Mass Saturday evening.  Conditions were perfect as McAnespies set the Tones early, putting an impressive 10 points over the bar in the first half.  The second saw the Macs continue to maintain the pressure against a Tones team that, although they were missing a handful of key players, battled hard throughout.

Shane McKenna tackles Mike O'Brien as 
Eoin Gormley looks on.
Philip McCusker at corner forward pointed to open affairs, and was followed by Sean Cournane – who was a member of the 2011 McAnespies North American Championship team.   Paschal Connell, who was a force for the Tones throughout the game, got his side off the mark and was soon followed by Mike O’Brien.  The Tones were stuck on 2 points for lengthy period and McAnespies slowly widened the gap.  There was some great work in the McAnespie forward line and a combination of scores from play and accurate free taking from Robbie Smith saw the Macs lead open a 6 point lead. Before the half ended a Tones goal from Connell gave them hope entering the second period and it was a 0-10 to 1-2 Macs lead at the mid-point.

Declan Hughes, presented with the Pat O'Brien Cup 
by Boston Northeast Chairman, Peter Murray.
The Tones got within 4 points early in the second half as O’Brien popped over a couple, and Paul Clifford pointed from distance.  With some good work from Paudie Kenneally at corner back and Enda Cahill in the middle of the field there was a glimmer of an opportunity, however a McAnespies goal snuffed that out.  It was well worked with McAnespies finding the open men well.  Anthony Cournane found McCusker on the edge of the box, and the big man from Magherafelt did not miss.  McAnespies now found spaces in the Tones back line and another goal near the final whistle from Longford man, Smith, put the finishing touches on a third O’Brien Cup in as many years for McAnespies.

Tones:  Shane Hayes, Keith Gill, Paudie Kenneally, James Farrell, Paul Clifford, Patrick Collins, Enda Cahill, Paschal O’Connell, Mike O’Brien, Cathal Moriarty, Thomas Beckett, Oisin McCormack, Dan Kelleally.

Macs:  Robbie Croft, Conor Maunsell, Ronan Murphy, Shane McKenna, Declan Hughes, Anthony Cournane, Peter O’Connor, Gareth O’Neill, Conor Bogue, Seanie Cournane, Eoin Gormley, Philip McCusker, Robbie Smith.
By Rory O'Donnell