Sunday, May 7, 2017

Pat O'Brien Cup - Second Round

Group B
Donegal 3-13 Wolfe Tones 2-7
Donegal kept Group B open with a win over Wolfe Tones in their first outing of the season.  The northerners took a while to get going, and once they did, pulled away in the last quarter of the game.
Mark Canny on the ball for Donegal.
Lee Carr was the playmaker for Donegal in the forward line.  The diminutive wing forward created openings for his teammates, and on occasion took the score himself.  Sean Hume and Sean Donnelly capitalized on the opportunities with four first half points between them, while Carr popped over two himself.  The Tones were still very much in the hunt with a Shane O’Rourke first half goal, while Gavin Walsh pointed twice from his corner forward berth.
The Tones netted early in the second half through Cormac Joyce-Power after a great Aaron Moore run made the opening for the big Limerick man.  Donegal kept picking off their points however.  Donnelly and Hume, along with some great play from Louthman, Derek Maguire, eventullay tipped the scales in Donegal’s favour.  Maguire and Donnelly netted to cancel out the Tones goals, and now a win, or a draw, for Donegal next week against Christopher’s, sees them into the final of the competition.
Donegal:  Pauric Miskell, Mark Canney, Paul McNulty, Neil McEneaney, Sean Tim, Derek Maguire, Brian Donnelly, Declam McBride, Darren Doherty, Sean Donnelly, Lee Carr, Sean Hamill, Sean Hume. 
Tones:  Shane Hayes, Fergal O’Brien, Darren McDonnell, Aaron Moore, Darren Maguire, Mike O’Brien, Gerry Troy, Jarlath Boyce, Joey Farrell, Cormac Joyce-Power, Shane O’Rourke, Garret Byrne, Gavin Walsh.

Group A
Aidan McAnespies 9-13 Galway 0-2
Aidan McAnespies made it 2 for 2 in the early season, and pretty much had the game out of reach for Galway before half time.  Goals were the order of the day for the Macs with Brian Breslin and Robbie Croft in the corners. 
Robbie Croft shoots between the posts for Aidan McAnespies.
Breslin had a hat trick before the break and Croft tallied 6 points, both from play and from dead balls.  Galway managed a couple of points from Kevin Cummins, however with Jimmy Rigney on top of his game at corner back and JP Gallagher likewise at center back, Galway never settled into the game.
The second half was more of the same, with Breslin ending the day with 5 goals to his name.  The result leaves McAnespies in pole position to reach the final with a win or a draw against the Gaels next week. 
Macs:  Paddy Coakley, Jimmy Rigney, Paul Clifford, Seamy Breslin, JP Gallagher, Tom Brereton, Marty Mongan, Niall Donahy, Ciaran Wallace, Eoin Delmer, Che O’Donnell, Brian Breslin, Robbie Croft.
Galway:  Jamie Kelly, Craig Burke, Colm Tummon, Tom Davey, Paul Cummins, Greg Lundy, Tom Walsh, Stewart Cullen, Peter Herlihy, Jamie Keogh, Kieran Gallagher, Kevin Cummins, Cian Marley.

Connemara Gaels 0-6 Shannon Blues 1-11
Shannon Blues looked impressive in their outing Saturday afternoon.  Kieran Hurley was instrumental in much of the good work from the Blues, and Glenfesk man, Lee O’Donoghue also impressed for the Blues.
Pat Moriarty tries to gather for the Blues.
After an opening 10 minutes which saw Coleman Mulkerrins and Kevin McGrath point for the Gaels, while Darren Wallace and Hurley put 3 over between them for the Blues, a three point spurt saw the Blues into the half with a four point lead.  Liam Henry and Hurley the scorers.
The Gaels closed the gap shortly after the break, McGrath with a lovely effort from a tight angle.  However, the Blues regained hold of the game, and Hurley was involved in each one of three unanswered points to restore the Blues lead.  With the Gaels goal under fierce attack a goal eventually come for Pat Murray late in the game to seal it for the Blues. 
Gaels:  Eoin Connolly, David Black, Niall McGinn, Damien Doolan, Niall Collins, Joe O’Shea, Ryan Caffrey, Tom Duggan, Sean Connolly, Coleman Mulkerrins, Ian Heanue, Kevin McGrath, Paddy McGee.
Blues:  Dara O’Shea, Fionn O’Herlihy, Derek O’Brien, Conor Kerins, Steven Henry, James Maher, Barry Hartnett, Pat Murray, Liam Henry, Darren Wallace, Conor Fitzgerald, Lee O’Donoghue, Kieran Hurley.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: