Monday, June 8, 2015

Sheehan Cup Final: Fr. Tom Burke's v Tipperary

Fr. Tom Burke’s 1-12 Tipperary 2-11

It was probably a harder earned win than expected, but Tipperary came through against a battling Fr. Tom’s to add the Sheehan Cup to their 2015 trophy haul.   From the start it was clear that Tom’s were not about to let the favoured Tipperary side have it all their own way.  Tipp had to work for their scores, while Tom’s took advantage of their chances to push their opponents all the way.  Tipperary had that extra bit of class to get the scores when they were needed to come out on top by two points.

Sean McGarr presented with the Sheehan Cup
by John Cunningham.
Tom’s dug in and fought hard over the first 30 minutes and were very much in the hunt at the end of the first half.  The senior championship holders kept pace with their opponents on the scoreboard through the free taking of David O’Mahoney, and held Tipp’s tally down with committed hurling, challenging for each and every loose ball.  Tipp’s fouling in the half back line provided David O’Mahoney with plenty of opportunities that were well within range and the Laois man capitalized.  

Tom’s held a slight edge coming into half time, but Tipp finally broke through the Tom’s rearguard and won a penalty just before the break.  The shot was put away by Colm Galvin, the first taken at the ICC under the new rules, where just the goalkeeper is on the line.  Tipp had pointed through Galvin, Joe Healy, and Oisin Hickey in the first period.  At the break it was Tipp 1-5 Tom’s 0-6.

The second half continued to be as tight as the first.  After Tipp added two points to their lead, Tom’s edged in front themselves  by following points from O’Mahoney and Howley with a goal.  Kevin Rice found a route through the Tipp defence and the Antrim man offloaded to O’Mahoney whose finish was executed with the expertise of a seasoned operator.  Tom’s hopes were short lived as Tipp answered in kind through who else but Galvin.  A path to goal opened up for the Clare starlet and with the well taken finish Tipp’s lead was restored. 

Sheehan Cup Winners 2015 - Tipperary
The teams traded points in the final quarter, and while the game was still within reach for Tom’s the westerners would have to work hard to turn their opponents.  Keeping their noses in front with points from Galvin and Oisin Hickey, Tipp held off Tom’s efforts at late game heroics to hold on to the two point victory.

Tom’s: K. Flynn, S. Lyons, J. Dooley, D. Costello, S. Dolan, D. Burke, S. Higgins, R. Driscoll, K. Rice, G. Kelly, S. Howley, D. O’Mahoney, K. Dunne.  Tipp:  S. Delaney, S. McGarr, D. Moloney, M. Gauthier, J. Rigney, W. Egan, J. Heavey, C. Dempsey, C. Galvin, P. Moriarty, R. Sludds, K. Lee, O. Hickey.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: