Thursday, March 2, 2017

Boston Northeast 2017 AGM

The 2017 Boston Northeast Divisional board was elected at last Sunday’s AGM at the Irish Cultural Center.  The meeting was attended by all 21 clubs from the Boston area and the wider New England region.  The meeting proceeded expeditiously with discussion around promotion, youth and games development, and of course expenses of running the games. 

Two motions passed by a show of hands.  The first was submitted by the Boston Shamrocks to ensure all championships are scheduled to conclude 2 weeks before the North American Finals to allow time for the winning clubs to organize travel and figure out covering the expenses.  It was suggested that the schedule be condensed or that championships start earlier, and the motion passed.  Galway football club put forward the other motion to pass, that a senior club’s second team no longer be required to enter the Junior A football competition.

2017 Boston Northeast Divisional Board
The election of officers went smoothly.  Two positions went to a vote.  The first was chairman with John Farrell coming in ahead of John Cunningham.  The voting slips were out again for the position of Registrar.  This time Shane McKenna polled higher than Gerard O’Kane.  The positions were filled as follows:  Chairman – John Farrell (Aidan McAnespies), Vice Chairman – Gerry Prior (Wolfe Tones), Secretary – Nessa Oates (Boston Shamrocks), Asst. Secretary – Ian “Squealer” Murphy (Wolfe Tones), Treasurer – John McDevitt (Armagh-Notre Dame), Asst. Treasurer – Peter Murray (Galway Hurling), Registrar – Shane McKenna (Aidan McAnespies), PRO – Rory O’Donnell (Connemara Gaels), Trustees – Brendan O’Donovan (Shannon Blues), Eddie Feeley (Shannon Blues), Eileen Kerins (Boston Shamrocks).  Bernie Reilly is Honorary President for 2017.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: