Monday, July 17, 2017

Sun July 16 - Junior A Hurling: Galway v Wexford

Wexford 2-14 Galway 1-16

In the battle of Brighton rivals it was Wexford who came away with a one point win following an exciting second half of hurling.  Trailing by 5 at the break, a Jamie Kehoe goal early in the second half brought Wexford back into the game, and the Slaneysiders pressed home the momentum to snatch a one point win in the end.

Eddie Murphy helped lift Wexford in the second half.
At the end of the first 30 minutes with was Galway five points to the good.   In the goals column it was the Tribesmen who struck first.  A goal from Mick Moylan put Galway in command.  Wexford pulled it back shortly afterwards, however, with a goal from Craig Burke.  Galway on top in the points column however.  Trevor Lee was the main marksman for the tribesmen, with Eudan Feeney  hitting the frees.  Wexford got contributions on the scoreboard from Tom Moloney and Jamie Kehoe, and it was Galway on top at the break, 1-10 to 1-5.

The second half saw Wexford lift their efforts.  A goal about 5 minutes after the restart Wexford were right back in it after Jamie Kehoe netted from close range.  Jigger drove the shot into the roof of the net from an angle about 21 yards out.  Wexford’s back line did a better job closing down the Galway forwards, while Eddie Murphy, who lined out at corner back, moved into a more advanced position and proved to be effective. 

Loose Ball: PJ O'Neill (Wex) and Dan O'Leary (Gal) size up their chances.
With Tom Moloney motoring well in the middle of the field points came from Kehoe, JJ O’Neill, and Moloney.  Seamus Loftus did well for Galway at the back, and was Trevor Lee who was still the main producer on the scoreboard.  Lee’s shooting kept Galway in the game with a handful of well taken scores, and it was tit for tat coming down the stretch.  The teams were level on two occasions over the final 10 minutes and the game could have gone to either side.  It was Wexford who claimed the spoils.  After Kehoe leveled the scores with time up, it was PJ O’Neill who put the winning score over the bar.  A satisfying win for Wexford to earn 2 points. 

Galway:  Ray Grealish, Seamus Loftus, David Lynch, Michael Lennon, Cian Clifford, Aidan Murphy, Dan O’Leary, Paul Dyre, Trevor Lee, David Lordan, Eodan Feeney, Mick Moylan, Shane Hayes.

Wexford: Colm Kerins, Eddy Murphy, Jack O’Hagon, John Taggert, Dennis Brennan, Nick Cannell, Greg Lundy, Jamie Kehoe, PJ O’Neill, Tom Maloney, JJ O’Neill, Craig Burke, Jamie Kehoe.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: