Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Ladies Final - Sean Og's v Boston Shamrocks

Sean Og’s 4-7 Boston Shamrocks 0-4

The Ladies football in Boston needed a jolt in 2023 and if any team was likely to give it one, it was the Sean Og’s ladies team.  Sean Og’s have come up together through the youth ranks and this was a chance to show what they could do.  With oodles of talent coming through the ranks show it they did, and with a great display of football the potential for this group of players in the coming years is sky high.

Sean Og's Ladies impressed in Sunday's Final

Sean Og’s opened with a score from center forward, Ciara Horan.  Horan ran the forward line for Sean Og’s as she was full of running and could take her own score or lay the ball off, whatever the situation warranted.  Aoife Delaney at corner forward and Aoibhe Gormley in the middle of the field were also major factors for Sean Og’s, and Delaney netted following some great work from Gormley.  The Shamrocks fought beck, however, and with some great work in the back line to force the ball to be turned over, got on the board through a Shannon Mullen point.  Clare Kennedy added another for the Shamrocks, but it was not long before the youngsters were back in the ascendancy.

Boston Shamrocks Battled Hard

Delaney, Horan and Gormley showed some great assurance in taking their points when the chances presented themselves, and as they say, take your points and the goals will come.  The goals did come from Chloe McGinty at corner foreard, Gormley, and Lynch as the game started to get away from the Shamrocks, but fight on they did and were rewarded with 2 points from Kennedy.  By half time it was goals that the Shamrocks would need to make up the gap, and Sean Og’s were not likely to allow too many openings.  The Shamrocks did continue to fight on through the second half but the outcome was clear as to who would be lifting the cup. 

Boston Shamrocks:  Kelly Tighe, Antonia O’Grady, Leanne Quinn, Kaci Lynch, Caitlin Slattery, Sile Doherty, Lauren McGuigan, Aisling Faulkner, Catriona Lynch, Sarah O’Hanlon, Claire Kennedy, Shannon Mullen, Christina McLaughlin, Nessa Oates.

Sean Og’s:  Aisling Kerr, Madison Kelly, Clare McCarthy, Christen McKeague, Michaela O’Donoghue, Maeve Skillin, Emma Lynch, Aoibhe Gormley, Lena Bannon, Ciara Horan, Aoife Delaney, Chloe McGinty, Aisling Kelly.  Michaela Kelly, Orlaigh Gormley, Aisling O’Riordan, Hannah O’Riordan, Sara Newell.

No comments: