Monday, May 31, 2010

Donegal v Armagh-Notre Dame - May 30

Donegal 3-14 Armagh-Notre Dame 1-2

Armagh-Notre Dame had the misfortune of opening their championship season against a very strong looking Donegal side. The game was a lopsided affair with Donegal keeping Armagh-Notre Dame scoreless for the first 30 minutes, while racking up a total of 1-7. It could have been more as Dean Burke made one tremendous save in the first half and saved a penalty kick. For Donegal it turned out to be an exercise in laying a claim for places, and it looks like the green and gold of the northwest could well be figuring in late August.

Darren McGowan plays the ball out of defence.

Donegal opened up with a goal right from the get go from wing forward, Brian Lafferty. Lafferty was a constant threat coming down Armagh’s left flank and tagged a couple of nicely taken points during the first half. It was all one way traffic and Armagh-Notre Dame scarcely managed a shot at goal. Stephen Dineen and Dominic Magill competed well in an effort to turn the tide for the men in orange and white, but Donegal were not for turning. The onslaught continued as Paddy Kelly swung into action and pointed four times before half time.

The Orchard County side got themselves on the scoreboard in the second half. Donal Byrne and Sean Butler each pointed, and Byrne goaled later in the game. However, it made as much difference to the final outcome as a BP effort to plug an oil leak. The scores kept gushing for Donegal. Peter Witherow looked impressive coming out of defence, Lafferty and Kelly pointed four times between them in the second period, while goals came from Kelly and John Lynch who stole forward from wing back. Stalwarts Kevin Curran and Michael McGinty also each pointed before all was said and done. It was an impressive outing for Donegal, and Armagh-Notre Dame will be looking for better things in their next outing.

Paddy Kelly was in good form for Donegal.

Donegal: B. Fitzpatrick, D. McGowan, J. Lynch (1-0), G. Reddin, P. Witherow, M. McGinty (0-1), T. Caldwell (0-1), B. Lafferty (1-4), E. Doonan (0-1), K. Curran (0-1), B. Kelly (0-1), P. Kelly (1-5). Armagh-ND: D. Burke, M. Graham, A. Doyle, F. Meehan, J. McCormack, D. Fields, C. Woods, S. Dineen, D. Maguire, D. Byrne (1-1), F. McClelland, D. Magill, G. Hall. Sub: S. Butler (0-1).

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: