Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Sun Jul 30 - Junior A Hurling: Wexford v Tipperary

Tipperary 1-24 Wexford 0-11

Tipperary and Wexford both entered Sunday afternoon’s game with secured semi-finals berths. Tipperary have proven to be quite strong all summer and cemented their position at the top of the Junior A Hurling table with another impressive performance.

The first ten minutes was an open-affair, with some fine scores and hard tackles from both sides. Russell Quirke and Sean Stafford showed well inside for Tipperary, benefitting from the hard work of Kieran Lowrey in the middle of the field. Wexford goalkeeper Colm Kearns was put to the test on several occasions and pulled out a few great saves to keep a clean sheet for the first half.

Tipperary’s half back line of Paul Morris, Cronan Dempsey, and Patrick Moriarty were quick to break apart any Wexford attacks through the middle. John Joe O’Neill and Jason Foley worked hard in midfield for Wexford as the sides went into the break with Tipperary nine points ahead.

The Wexford backline tightened up in the second half with Eddie Murphy and John Taggart turning over several Tipperary charges into the Wexford half. A scuffle in front of the Wexford goal resulted in Tipperary corner forward Russell Quirke and Wexford goalkeeper Colm Kearns both being shown yellow cards.

Halfway through the second half corner forward Russell Quirke hit the back of the Wexford net and Sean Stafford went on to add another point to the scoreboard for Tipperary. Tipperary continued to prove too strong as the Brighton-based Wexford forwards struggled to create scoring chances from their possessions.

Tensions were high towards the end of the game and Patrick Moriarty picked up a red card for a high tackle. A few more Tipperary scores came before the final whistle and after sixty minutes, it was another convincing win for Tipperary in this year’s Junior A Hurling Championship. 

Tipperary: Sean Delaney, Cathal Madden, Sean McGarr, Paul Morris, Cronan Dempsey, Patrick Moriarty, Simon Kennedy, Kieran Lowrey, Joe O’Sullivan, Timmy Maher, Dylan Nyland, Russell Quirke, Sean Stafford

Wexford: Colm Kearns, Tom Davey, Peter Herlihy, John Taggart, Eddie Murphy, Greg Lundy, Jason Foley, John Joe O’Neill, Peter Ryan, Eoghan Kavanagh, Tom Delaney, Craig Burke, Jamie Kehoe

By Aisling Kerr

No comments: