Monday, June 11, 2018

Junior A Football: Cork v Christopher's

Cork 2-19 Christopher’s 0-7

Cork had it easy against Christopher’s in the opening match of the junior A football championship.  The game was as good as over at half time with Cork holding a 15 point lead.  Christopher’s made a mini comeback after half time and rattled over a brace of points, and also missed a couple of chances to make a dent in the gap.  Cork, however, regained the momentum to see out the game.

Michael Moynihan points for Cork.
The first half saw the Cork half forward line get out of the traps quickly.  Emmet Smyth, Ian O’Callaghan, and Adam Ryan all got on the scoreboard and had the Christopher’s defenders at sixes and sevens.  Dorchester and youth league product, Emmet Smyth netted following a great pass from Ryan, and Ryan also had found the net to put Cork in the driver’s seat.  O’Callaghan pointed and the St. Finbarr’s clubman proved to a force in the Cork vanguard.  For Christopher’s Conal Dooley and Paul Kerrigan found the mark as they struggled to remain in the game.

The second half saw
Conal Dooley in possession for Christopher's
Christopher’s get off to a good start following the throw-in.  Two points from Kerrigan and Dooley seemed to set the stage for a possible run.  For the first 10 minutes it looked as though Christopher’s might make the game interesting, however, a number of chances at points, and one for a goal, were frittered away.  Christopher’s ran out of the proverbial steam and tired legs began to show.  Cork took control again and eventually restored their advantage with points from Mike Molynihan (sub), Ryan, and O’Callaghan to see out the result.  A good start for Cork as they seek to defend the title won last year.  For Christopher’s it is back to the training ground to figure out how to tally a first win following the step down to junior.

Cork:  Mark Farrelly, Mike Carolan, Darren O’Donovan, Conor Jenkins, Stephen Lambert, Brendan Turley, Cormac Clarke, Jack Lynch, Adam Kenny, Ian O’Callaghan, Emmett Smyth, Colm Caffrey, Adam Ryan.

Christopher’s:  Conor Allen, Mark Russell, Murt Hunt, Cian Ryan, Chris Moynihan, John Cronin, Dan Kenneally, Jerry Kenneally, Paudie Kenneally, Conal Dooley, James Horgan, Ronan Gerrity, Paul Kerrigan.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: