Monday, August 27, 2018

SunAug 26 - Ladies Senior Football Final: Connacht Ladies v Boston Shamrocks

Connacht Ladies 0-17 Boston Shamrocks 0-4

Connacht Ladies claimed the Ladies Senior Football Championship with ease and never looked to be in trouble from the throw in to the game.  To their credit, although it was a losing battle, the Shamrocks kept up the fight to the end.  Six points in a row to open the game from the Connacht Ladies set the tone for rest of the hour.

The Connacht Ladies opened a 6 point lead over the first 15 minutes.  Maedbh McGleenan, Jane ward and Ciara Heffernan each pointed as the challengers were well on top in the early going.  Connacht were alert to everything, and the defenders were first to every ball into their territory.  
Captains Shauneen McAleer and Laura Kiernan 
shake hands, with referee Philip Kelly.

The Shamrocks eventually managed to get into the game and passed the ball around well.  Laura McKiernan was the catalyst for the Shamrocks as the Westmeath native carried forward on several occasions.  There were a handful of chances, however just one went between the posts from Niamh Harney after 20 minutes.  With the Shamrocks trying to pull themselves back into the game Connacht extended the lead by another 2 points   Triona Kelly was in good form in the middle of the field for Connacht, and the half back line of Catherine Boyle, Hazel Poff, and Stephanie Gunn were in control.  At the break it was a 10 point to 2 lead for the westerners.

Connacht got the second half off in the same vein as the first with 5 on the trot to pretty much put the affair beyond the reach of the Shamrocks.  The trio of McGleenan, Ward, and Heffernan were the driving force for the eventual winners.  The defending champions kept up the fight however.  Cathy McEleaney and Laura Kiernan were very involved, and there were always possibilities with Niamh Harney in possession. 

Shauneen McAleer with the Cup.
Shannon Costello pointed for the Shamrocks with 15 minutes left, but with Connacht sitting on a very comfortable cushion it was goals that would be required, and the Connacht defence were not about to let that happen.  Each side brought in the substitutes for the run in to the final whistle and Connacht saw out the game to claim the 2018 championship. 

Connacht:  Rachel O’Driscoll, Catherine Cullen, Shauneen McAleer, Jackie McDonagh, Catherine Boyle, Hazel Poff, Stephanie Gunn, Aoife Heffernan, Aisling Kerr, Ciara Heffernan, Meadbh McGleenan, Kim Cobbe, Colette Folan, Jane ward, Triona Kelly.

Shamrocks:  Erin Cody, Katie McGovern, Cathy McEleaney, Anne Marie McDonnell, Alice Grennan, Stacy Fuller, Realtin McElhinney, Laura Kiernan, Shannon Costello, Chloe Baker, Nicola Judge, Niamh Harney, Ciara Murphy, Katie McKay, Meghan O’Loughlin.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: