Monday, July 2, 2012

Wolfe Tones Juniors March On

Aidan McAnespies 0-6 Wolfe Tones 3-9

The Wolfe Tones got their day off to a great start with a convincing won over Aidan McAnespies in the junior football championship.  The Tones came away with another 2 points and looked like they could be considered to be there or thereabouts at the end of August in defence of their junior A title.

Gary McAlinden in Possession for McAnespies
The Tones had things in hand by half time with a lead of 11 points, and heading into the second half with an extra man there was little chance of the outcome changing.  Own McCosker and Joey Farrell got into a tangle and McCosker was adjudged to have struck the Wolfe Tones player after the referee had already sounded the whistle for a free.  Not only that, but Eugene McKenna had to leave the field with an ankle injury, so scoring options were at a premium for the Macs.  Corner forward Dan McCabe netted 2 first half goal for the Tones, while Sean Kelly pointed a couple of exquisitely taken points.  Ger Molloy added to the Tones first half tally with some well taken scores, and McAnespies found themselves behind the 8 ball early.  Gavin Walsh and Farrell enjoyed a wealth of possession in the middle of the field, and the forwards capitalized.

McAnespies made a much better fight of it in the second half.  Tones keeper, Brendan Murray, was called on to make a good save from Joe O’Shea early in the half and on a couple of occasions the Tones back line had to step in to make last minute blocks on goalbound shots.  Gary McAlinden, Aaron McLoughlin, and Maurice O’Scanlon each popped scores over the bar.  The Tones struck with a third goal, this time from Sean Kelly who was found with a great pass by Michael Duffy.  Kelly added another well taken point to his tally to keep the Tones comfortably ahead.  Repeat for the junior championship?

Referee:  Jimmy Trimble (Co. Donegal)

Man of the Match:  Sean Kelly (Tones)

Macs:  R. McCrystal, M. Bogue, P. McCusker, G. McAlinden, G. Hennessy, M. Slane, S. Lynn, M. O’Scanlon, J. O’Shea, P. Nugent, N. Donaghy, E. McKenna, O. McCosker.  Tones:  B. Murray, A. Rooney, K. Gill, E. Carr, A. Curry, M. O’Brien, J. Farrell, G. Walsh, S. Kelly, G. Molloy, J. Carroll, D. McCabe, S. O’Brien.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: