Monday, June 24, 2013

June 23 - Ladies Senior Football: Boston Shamrocks v Connacht Ladies

Connacht Ladies 4-20 Boston Shamrocks 0-3

The Ladies senior football championship opened with last season's finalists, Connacht Ladies and Boston Shamrocks.  It turned out to be a one-sided affair with Connacht Ladies storming the Shamrocks defences and not letting up.

Connacht Ladies were in devastating form in their first outing on Sunday.
It was a dominant performance from Connacht Ladies in the opening half.  The back line had little to do as the midfielders and forwards went to work.  The Connacht forwards found the open spaces and overwhelmed the Shamrocks defences, and were well supported by the midfield duo of Jacinta Brady and Aoife McGlone.  After a couple of early chances for the Shamrocks it was Jane Ward and company who took over and putting the game beyond the reach of their opponents.  A six points to one first quarter was the forerunner to the heavier onslaught that was to come.  Goals from full forward Catriona Foley and 2 from Tyrone’s own Jane Ward had the Shamrocks reeling.  Try as they might the Shamrocks could not hold up the rampant Connacht forward line.  Points came from 5 of the six forwards, while the Shamrock's lone score was a free from Clodagh McGovern.  It would be a long second 30 in store for the green and gold.

In the second period the Shamrocks generated a goal chance or two, but Caroline Heraty managed to clear the ball when called upon.  Lisa O'Brien managed a point in the Shamrocks column, but the second half continued along the same vein as the first.  Another goal came from Sara Brady, and the ball continued to sail over Ali Cross's crossbar.  Based on this performance it will be hard to see who can stop the champiosn from producing a repeat of last year’s victory. 

Shamrocks:  A. Cross, B. Lockwood, C. McGinley, G. Bailey, E. McGovern, L. Larkin, F. Considine, S. O'Carroll, R. McHugh, O. Cullinan, L. O'Brien, K. Scanlon, R. Kelly, S. McGovern, C. McGovern.  Connacht:  C. Heraty, A. Kerr, E. Beirne, S. McAleer, M. Breen, J. O'Connell, H. Poff, A. McGlone, J. Brady, A. Fox, A. Ring, J. McDonagh, C. Donnelly, C. Foley, J. Ward.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: