Monday, June 19, 2017

Sunday June 18 - Junior A Hurling: Wexford v Tipperary

Wexford 0-6 Tipperary 4-18

The opening junior A hurling match was a fairly one sided affair as Tipperary got their campaign off to a flying start.  By the time half time came around the Premier County side held a double digit lead and a man advantage one the field.  Wexford struggled to keep it close, however, had they taken their scores earlier in the first half it could have been a different game.

Tipp's Simon Kennedy with the eyes on the ball.
Three Tipperary goals and a host of Wexford misses conspired to have the Premier men sitting on a healthy half time lead.   Tipp had tallied 2-2 before Tom Moloney got Wexford off the mark with a point.   Russell Quirke and Sean Stafford hit the majors for Tipp.  Greg Burke pointed another for Wexford and with the chance to get into the game the Slaneysiders proceeded to hit several chances wide of the posts.  Tipp maintained their lead thanks to the free taking of Sean Stafford, while Eoghan Kavanagh took over the free taking duties for Wexford.

As the half time break approached, Wexford missed another chance, this time a goal opportunity, and Tipperary netted a third time.  It was Quirke who found the net for a second time to put the game well and truly beyond Wexford.  Following the goal a few punches were thrown resulting in a red card for Wexford goalkeeper, Jamie Keogh.  At the break it was a 12 point advantage for Tipperary.

Tom Moloney in possession with Mark Jordan
ready to pounce.
The second half saw Tipp extend their lead and with the extra man there was little hope for a Wexford comeback.  Strikes from Pat Moriarty, Jimmy Maher, and 4 Stafford frees (the St. Martin’s man hardly missed) had the matter pretty much put to bed early in the second half.  Dinny Cross and Maher capped off the scoring in a dominant performance.

Wexford: Jamie Keogh, Eddie Murphy, Tom Davey, Jason Foley, Denis Brennan, John Taggert, Greg Lundy, Tom Moloney, Sam Lenihan, Jamie Rath, Greg Burke, Eoghan Kavanagh, Kevin Joyce.

Tipp:  Sean Delaney, Cathal Madden, Sean McGarr, Mark Jordan, Cronan Dempsey, Paul Morris, Pat Moriarty, Simon Kennedy, Dinny Cross, Jimmy Maher, Kieran Lowrey, Russell Quirke, Sean Stafford.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: