Monday, July 30, 2018

Sunday July 29 - Junior B Football: Galway v Seán Óg’s

Galway 4-11 Seán Óg’s 1-10
Galway came out winners in the end over a good challenge from Seán Óg’s on Sunday afternoon.  Seán Óg’s, the development team that just started this year, led at the break thanks to a Kieran O’Driscoll penalty.  O’Driscoll was fouled in the box, and took the penalty himself expertly low and into the bottom corner.  The goal put his side a point to the good.  Galway had pointed twice through Kevin Cummins, and one from mark King, and for Seán Óg’s  it was Eoin Gormley and Mike Moylan who pointed.
Galway topped the Junior B Football table with a win on Sunday.
With Dennis Harrington doing well in the back line, and Sean Winston farther forward, Seán Óg’s  were more than holding their own against one of the better sides in the competition.  O’Driscoll added a point to the lead, but Galway had the ace in the corner in Cummins, and two more came from his boot before half time.  Michael Kerr put a lovely effort from a tight angle over the bar before the half time whistle, and it was a 0-6 to 1-4 advantage for the youngsters.
Seán Óg’s have the hallmarks of a team that will be a force in the future.

Galway demonstrated their credentials in the competition and pushed it in the second half, and netted 4 times to clinch the win.  Right from the restart Cummins netted, but Seán Óg’s leveled it up within 10 minutes, and took a one point lead.  In the final quarter however, it was the Tribesmen who pushed hard and another Cummins goal was followed by 2 from Niall Manning.  The result gives Galway top seed in the semi-finals.  Other results meant that with 3 teams in joint third, lots had to be drawn.  Cork drew third place and will play Donegal in one semi-final.  Kerry and the Gaels must play off Tuesday, August 7 to see who will play Galway in the other semi-final.  
Galway:  Colin Melody, Seamus Gallagher, Kevin Healy, Mark King, Paul Cummins, Peter Dolan, Sean Whelan, Niall Manning, Kieran Keegan, JJ O’Neill, Cormac Kelly, William Edmonds, Kevin Cummins.
Seán Óg’s :  Cathal Conroy, Declan Harrington, Jack Kelly, Peter Bannon, Denis Harrington, Eoin Morissey, Mike Moylan, Stephen Joyce, Colm O’Malley, Sean Winston, Michael Kerr, Kieran O’Driscoll, Eoin Gormley.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: