Monday, July 30, 2018

Sunday July 29 - Senior Football: Aidan McAnespies v Galway

Aidan McAnespies 6-19 Galway 2-10

Aidan McAnespies kept their championship hopes alive with a win over Galway.  It was a game that was more of a workout for McAnespies given that there was nothing in it for Galway, and McAnespies made the most of the game time.  Although out of the running, Galway played well in spells, but never looked like causing any sort of a surprise result. 

Che O'Donnell pops one over for McAnespies.
Galway tallied the first 2 points of the game, but thereafter it was McAnespies dictating affairs.  Johnny Lafferty at corner forward saw plenty of the ball and converted possession into scores.  A goal came from the boot of the man from Urney after Phil McCusker found him unmarked at the far post.  A slew of points followed, a couple of well taken efforts from Eamonn Fyffe and Che O’Donnell along with Lafferty’s efforts were followed by another goal from Fyffe.  It was a somewhat fortuitous score, a slightly mis-hit shot for a point ended up sneaking just inside the post.

Galway had their moments, Jamie Keogh stole in for a goal and Galway tallied several points, an Adam Gallagher point and scores from Cian McMonagle  put a more respectable appearance on the scoreboard.  McAnespies kept up the pressure, and a third goal before half time well and truly laid the matter to rest.  This one was from Danny McBride after a one-two with Fyffe left the big Strabane man with just the keeper to beat.  At the break it was a 3-11 to 1-7 McAnespies lead.

Eric Finn gets tied up by Paddy Naughton.
The second 30 minute period was a foregone conclusion as McAnespies brought in the subs early.  Fyffe and Seamus Breslin added a couple of goals within the first 10 minutes of the restart, and with the game in the bag McAnespies look forward to 2 weeks from now when they will be hoping the Wolfe Tones can defeat the Connemara Gaels, and there will be a playoff to decide the last semi-final place.

Macs:  Robert Croft, Caolan Harvey, Eoin Delmer, Rob Piggott, Daniel O’Neill, Seamus Breslin, Declan Hughes, Philip McCusker, Danny McBride, Che O’Donnell, Eric Finn, Johnny Lafferty, Eamonn Fyffe.

Galway: Jamie Kelly, Tom Davey, Daire Quinn, Greg Lundy, Declan Walsh, Ryan Forde, Paddy Naughton, Ray Conneeley, Sean Moriarty, Adam Gallagher, Christian Bannon, Jamie Kehoe, Cian McMonagle.
By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: