Sunday, August 5, 2012

Junior A Football: Tones on Top

Wolfe Tones 1-12 Donegal 0-11

The top 2 teams in the junior A competition met at the Irish Cultural Centre on Saturday evening and played a very entertaining game of football.  Wolfe Tones ended up coming out on top thanks to some stiff defending and a talented forward line.  A Dan McCabe goal in the second half put some distance between the teams in what was an otherwise tight game.

The Tones Dan McCabe tips it into the net.
There was very little separating the teams at the end of the first half.  The Tones landed seven points to five for Donegal, and with Donegal playing into the low end for the second half, a close finish was set up.  Donegal had the scores level within five minutes of the restart thanks to scores from Ciaran Flynn and Paddy McMyler.  The Tones played tight at the back and were soon back on top.  With scoring threats such as Mick Sammon, Dan McCabe and Sean Kelly in their forward line, the Tones proved difficult to contain.

Joey Farrell pops one over the bar.
Joey Farrell and Gavin Walsh quickly restored the two point advantage for the Tones, but Donegal still had plenty of possession and converted scores from McMyler.  The gap widened with a goal from Dan McCabe.  A free kick from out on the wing was met on the edge of the square by McCabe who directed the ball into the net and the Tones had the breathing room that they needed to see them through the final 10 minutes.  Donegal kept attacking as the Tones sat back and defended, however, their efforts yielded a solitary point from center back, Darren Doherty  The Tones alone atop the Junior A Football table, though Donegal will probably fancy their chances if they get another crack at the champions.

Referee:  Dave Slevin (Iar Mhi)

Man of the Match  Sean Kelly (Wolfe Tones)

Tones:  B. Murray, K. Regan, K. Gill, M. O’Brien, C. Davey, E. Carr, G. Walsh, J. Farrell, K. Gorham, G. Molloy, S. Kelly, M. Sammon, D. McCabe.  Donegal:  J. Byrne, P. McNulty, D. Scott, D. Doherty, P. McLoughlin, B. Friel, C. Bell. M. McGinty, R. Curran, T. Donnelly, E. McCarney, C. Flynn, P. McMyler.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: