Tuesday, July 11, 2023

Sun July 9- Connemara Gaels v Aidan McAnespie’s- Men’s Senior Football Championship

The Gaels were victorious in their fierce battle against McAnespie’s this week. The very narrow win came after a long, hard fight on a muggy Sunday afternoon.  

The Gaels took the first three points of the game, two of which were scored by Simon Garrity (13). It was McAnespie’s own number 13, Eoin Gormley, that secured their first point of the game. The Gaels racked up an impressive number of points in the first few minutes, courtesy of number 12, Daniel Kerr, and 10, Emmett McMahon. A goal punched in by Gaels number 11, Dan Lynam, saw the Gaels off to a flaming start.  

Determined not to be left behind, a goal from Robbie Croft (12) put McAnespie’s back in motion. McAnespie’s spent most of their time on the defensive as the Gaels held possession and worked the ball through the lines well. As the misses piled up for McAnespie’s, so did the frustration, and tensions grew. Scoring for Mac’s picked up as the first half drew to a close, but the Gaels maintained their advantage, holding on to a two-point lead at halftime.  

The second half had twice the amount of fire as the first. Play was rapid and fierce, and McAnespie’s would not bow down to their rivals. After several points from number 11, Shane Pettit, and 10, Ruairi Gormley, McAnespie’s pulled ahead with a one-point lead for the first time since the beginning of the game.  

Aside from the scoring, there was an excellent standard of football displayed on the field. The Gaels cherished the talents of Mikey Kerr (6) who celebrated his 21st birthday on the field.

Substitute Aaron Griffin (20) was responsible for the Gaels goal that put them back in the winning position. With minutes left on the clock, McAnespie’s number 9, Scott, took a shot and was successful. Now, with a single point between the teams, the pressure was at an all-time high.  

James Darcy (9) put another point on the board for the Gaels as anxious supporters awaited the final whistle. Thankfully for them, it came shortly after and confirmed that the Connemara Gaels were victorious. This is the third win out of four games for the Gaels.

The final score was Connemara Gaels 2 – 14 to Aidan McAnespie’s 1-15. 


Connemara Gaels: 

  1. James Keoghan 
  2. Ronan Lanigan 
  3. Eoghan Murray 
  4. Nathan Donnelley 
  5. Jack Lynch 
  6. Mikey Kerr 
  7. Paul Keaney 
  8. Ryan Caffrey 
  9. James Darcy 
  10. Emmet McMahon 
  11. Dan Lynam 
  12. Daniel Kerr 
  13. Simon Garrity 


Aidan McAnespie’s: 

  1. Marc Kelliher 
  2. Conor Brady 
  3. Jonny Cassidy 
  4. Pa Darcy 
  5. Owen Ward 
  6. Iarla O’Sullivan 
  7. Darragh Lyne 
  8. Ben McDonald 
  9. Ruairi Scott 
  10. Ruairi Gormley 
  11. Shane Pettit 
  12. Robbie Croft 
  13. Eoin Gormley 


No comments: