Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Sun July 23- Galway v Fr. Tom Burkes- Men's Senior Hurling Championship Final

Galway defeated Fr. Tom Burkes this past Sunday, taking home the Men’s Senior Hurling Championship win. This was the fourth and final meeting between the two longtime rivals this season. After two defeats, Tom’s came back to secure the win on July 11th and keep their place in the Championship. Their fate depended on this game, and their ability to even the number of games won. Ultimately, Galway was the victor, winning their third of four games and claiming the Championship title.  

It was difficult to predict the outcome from the first half. Both teams struggled to maintain an advantage. Points from Galways 11 Shane Barrett, and 13, Mark Kennedy, were matched by a goal from Tom’s number 9, Sam Quirke. Scores flew up for both sides, and Galway began to pull ahead slightly. The first half saw them with a six-point lead, but they understood the stakes and returned to the field with the same hunger as the first half.  

Quirke (9) bagged the first score for Tom’s and Galway retaliated with points from Kennedy (13), Ciaran Joyce (5) and Ciaran Brennan (15). Toms had several missed point opportunities, and their frustration was evident. Two points from 4, Cathal Hardiman, and 12, Cormac Power, helped raise morale but Galway pulled further ahead as the minutes ticked away. After a point from Kennedy (13) Galway enjoyed a nine-point lead when the referee blew the final whistle.  


The cup was presented by President of the Boston GAA, Peter Murray and graciously accepted by captain Shane Ryan. This is the third year in a row that the Galway Boston Hurling Club has taken home the Eddie Flaherty Memorial Cup. They will travel to Denver in August for the USGAA finals.  



  1. John Coleman 
  2. Niall O’Leary 
  3. Shane Ryan  
  4. Ger Mellerick 
  5. Ciaran Joyce 
  6. Michael Moylan 
  7. Aidan O’Sullivan 
  8. Eoin Morrissey 
  9. Darrach McBride 
  10. Conor Flaherty 
  11. Shane Barrett 
  12. Padraig Power 
  13. Mark Kennedy 


Fr. Tom Burke’s: 

  1. Kevin Flynn 
  2. Eoin Roche 
  3. Brian Troy 
  4. Cathal Hardiman 
  5. Daire O’Leary 
  6. Brian Roche 
  7. Aidan O’Malley 
  8. Conor Kelly 
  9. Sam Quirke 
  10. Kevin Moynihan 
  11. Dylan Coyne 
  12. Cormac Power 
  13. Gearoid Lynch 

No comments: