Monday, July 4, 2011

Sunday July 3 - Junior A Football: Aidan McAnespies v Donegal

Aidan McAnespies 0-11 Donegal 2-8

Padraig McLaughlin shoots for goal.
Donegal earned a deserved win over arch rivals Aidan McAnespies in the junior A football championship. After a first half in which the Donegal forward line stuttered, the Tir Chonaill men got their act together in the shooting department, and ended up coming away with a three point win.

McAnespies held a two point lead at the end of the first half and held Donegal to two scores. A Darren Green goal and a point were all that the Tir Chonaill men could muster over the first 30 minutes. McAnespies had more success then their wasteful opponents, kicking six points. Joe Gallen and Sean Mallon worked hard in the McAnespies forward line, while Donegal missed several good opportunites to score.

Donegal's Darren Green is challenged by James Harkin.
Donegal got off to the best possible start to begin the second period. Green notched his, and Donegal’s, second goal of the day, ending a move that started with corner back, Barney Friel and involved Rocky Ivers who made the all important final pass to Green. McAnespies worked hard to regain the initiative, points from Steven Magill and Neil Donaghy restored the lead to a point. Donegal then got their act together with the shooting boots. Eamonn McCarney, Padraig McLaughlin, Paddy Wanish McLaughlin, and Dean Matthews hit the mark as things finally came good for the Donegal men. Derek Nolan did well holding the Donegal back line together as the forwards went to work. McAnespines clawed the deficit back to a single score with points from Steven Magill and a Joe Gallen free. With time running out a goal was required to salvage a draw, but Donegal’s back line did not give and the northerners earned a deserved win.

Macs:  R. McCrystal, J. Harkin, C. Treanor, P. Stones, N. Gallen, N. Hassey, N.. Donaghy, S. Lynn, S. Mallon, J. Gallen, S. Magill, R. Brady, E. McCusker.  Donegal:  C. Mclaughlin, K. McGee, B. Friel, J. Deary, D. Nolan, P. McLaughlin, A. McGirr, Padraig McLaughlin, E. McCarney, J. Egan, R. Ivers, D. Matthews, D. Green.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: