Sunday, July 28, 2013

July 28 - Senior Football: Donegal v Galway

Donegal 0-18 Galway 0-9

Donegal faced Galway in a must win game in order to retain their interest in the 2013 senior football championship.  The northerners came through in the end, but not without a fight for most of the way.  Galway kept it close until the final 15 minutes when Donegal managed to put some distance between the teams to give themselves a fighting chance for a playoff spot next weekend when a win over the Connemara Gaels will leave 4 teams on 7 points with 3 spots available.

Ryan Rafferty and Donegal pulled out the win.
At the end of the first half Donegal held a one goal lead.  Donegal had to work for everything they got as Galway were not lying down in their final game in the senior championship this year.  For Galway, target man Conor McGreanor was the main marksman, while Sean Kelly and Sean Burke each put a some nice points over the bar for Donegal.  At the break it was 0-7 to 0-4 in Donegal's favour.

Seamus Conneely and Galway battled to end the season
on a positive note, but it was not to be.
Peter Nolan got the first score of the second half as Galway got of to a lively start to the period.  Andy Kelly proved to be a real dangerman at corner forward for the tribesmen.  Kelly accounted for 2 points and won a free for a third that McGreanor converted.  Donegal had scored through Kelly to keep their noses in front, and Galway crept within 2 points of their opponents.   Donegal took over for the final 15 minutes, however.  Burke and Pat Hughes were key men in the front 5, and more of the ball broke for the yellow and green shirts as Galway's effort waned.  Points went over from substitute Gary Maguire, Burke, Ryan Rafferty, and Hughes as Donegal extended the lead to 5 points.  Galway's attacks were now more sporadic while Donegal added a couple of well worked points, notably one that was finished by wing back James Dolan.  Donegal can set the cat amongst the pigeons next week and force a 4 way playoff should they defeat the Connemara Gaels.

Donegal:  G. Shields, M. Canny, A. Williams, S. Doherty, T. Caldwell, J. Dolan, A. Connolly, C. Bell, P. Hughes, S. Burke, P. McLaughlin, R. Rafferty, S. Kelly.  Galway:  M. O'Connor, P. Cummins, N. Freeman, S. Connelly, M. McGinley, B. Lyons, A. McFadeen, M. Kenny, D. Reddin, K. Cummins, P. Nolan, C. McGreanor, A. Kelly.

By Rory O'Donnell

No comments: